Life & Roses (de Chloe)

Roses smell so good people are always telling you to stop and smell them.  Therefore, The hope of wearing a perfume with roses in it is that a desirable someone will stop to smell you.

RosesChloeFront

I chose Roses de Chloe for my next sample because it was a Friday, roses are symbolic of Venus and Venus is making major astrological moves right now and Friday is Venus’s day .

You may know that the rose is of course an important symbol of love and that it’s the official state flower of New York, but did you know that “the rose has always been an important symbol with anti-authoritarian associations.” and it is one half of the symbol for the band Guns N Roses? Ok you probably knew that.

My point is roses are powerful.

And according to Chloe, delicate.

Inside the sample card in all caps: “THE DELICATE & GRACEFUL SCENT OF FRESH CUT ROSES.”  Trust me, it appears much more delicate in Chloe all-caps:

RosesChloeMiddle.jpg

First spray thoughts:  Prom corsages and baby’s breath, brand new toe-shoes, and $9,000 sundresses.    I like it even though it’s a bit powdery and I know they snuck musk in there somewhere (because I read it’s part of the signature Chloe fragrance). It’s rose-forward enough. 

From Chloe:

“A bouquet of fresh cut roses. The rose immediately exudes incredible freshness derived from the top note bergamot. It is gradually joined by a heart of damascena rose essence, modernized with a magnolia accord. The trail on the skin is of white musk and amber, signature of the Chloé house.”

Notes:

  • Top: bergamot, tea, osmanthus.
  • Middle: damascena rose, magnolia.
  • Base: white musk, amber.

Imagine my horror when I heard there was Bergamot in here. But again, I guess, like with Pernod, if you know how to mix it, it can be ok.

I found their fragrance launch video particularly gorgeous: 

It reminds me of an olympic opening ceremony but softer and dustier and gauzier. Makes me want to trade in my grey and black wardrobe for dusty rose, but we can’t all live in a Chloe world. I’m glad I got to for the two days this sample lasted. 

Fifth Sample Breakdown

Terms learned:

Magnolia:  I live in the south so I KNOW what magnolia is but I hadn’t caught it as a fragrance note yet.  From a fragrance site    “Magnolia is believed to be one of the most ancient flowering plants. Dinosaurs saw Magnolias blossoming. There were no bees back then but beetles, creatures three times older than the magnolia, extracted the magnolia’s protein-rich pollen, as they still do nowadays.”

Things to work on:  

  1. Toe shoes
  2. Appreciating Magnolias more

Leave a Reply

