Evoking warmth and pleasure: “Deep Euphoria”

I picked the first loosie in my stash: Calvin Klein’s “Deep Euphoria”.   

DeepEuphFRONT

Right away Calvin Klein makes me think of TJ Maxx and euphoria reminds me of the website bluelight.  This fragrance claims to be deep euphoria.  We’ll see who is the expert on that one, but a search on bluelight for euphoria will turn up more results (about 101,000 results actually) than on Sephora (8 products, 4 videos, and 1 article). 

It’s in a typical fragrance sample mini-folder (this reminds me to look up the industry term for this). The cover is all black with a nice hot pink labia slash across the front. Inside it’s very maroon and very 90s, but the absence of capital letters on the packaging (aside from the C and the K in Calvin Klein) really advances the style to the mid 2000s.

DeepEuphInside

The text inside the card:

“liberated, empowered, sensual; an alluring freshness gives way to a steamy magic, rose of the heart; leaving a trail of undeniable femininity”

Hmmm, unfortunate that the copy team used the term “undeniable femininity” in the midst of a cultural shift redefining gender.   Surely there are cultural studies academics looking into fragrance terminology and feminism.  I wonder, what perfume does Gloria Steinem wear?

Before looking anything up online about this fragrance, I guess that “undeniable femininity” means flowers and musk and I sprayed it on my wrists and neck. I know how risky a neck spray can be if it really stinks.

But I happen to like it because it is floral and smells like roses. That’s good for the Venus retrograde right now so I sprayed it on all my chakras, including the in-between ones. 

After I checked the CK website I realized I probably do have a gift for fragrance identification: 

Deep Euphoria is a new expression of euphoric fantasy. The scent opens with notes of cascalone and black magic rose enhancing the signature of sensuality and modern femininity. The drydown of musk brings a smooth, sensual texture immersing you deep within the fragrance, evoking warmth and pleasure.

Musk drydown. Eurphoric fantasy! Is it any coincidence that I watched Amy Schumer’s Leather Special later that night? 

First Sample Day Breakdown

Terms learned:

Drydown: This term from the world of perfumery describes the last stage in the evolution of a fragrance. After the top notes have faded (usually 30 minutes to an hour after application), the middle and base notes remain to mingle, forming the body of the scent.   Thanks POPSUGAR

Texture: Haven’t found an internet definition but I will say it is how much the fragrance burns or graces the nostrils. 

Cascalone: a fragrance ingredient which has been created or synthesized in a lab. It adds a fresh aquatic feel to fragrance compositions.

Things to work on:   My own euphoric fantasy expression.  

Magic, luck or compliments this fragrance brought me:  The text on the sample card had me ready for a euphoric, sexy day but it was more a warm and friendly one. I had a lunch with a good pal and the waitress checked on us 12 times. I also got a spontaneous text invite to go out for cocktails. I did leave a wake of undeniable femininity at Circle K, three different parking lots, and in a rock shop where I picked up a spear of kyanite so we’ll see what happens. 

Websites discovered: One stop shop for all fragrance terms: Oo La Lab 

Leave a Reply

